That Polka Dot Dress

You could say I am polka dotty. A fan of the polka dots. I find them irresistable. I try not to go overboard with this slight obsession but I am afraid I do fail regularly. Every time I step into a shop, I gravitate towards the polka dot pattern. Be it on a blind, throw cushions, wellies, mug, plastic wallets…it is endless where you spot the polkas. It is a conspiracy I tell thee.
My beloved sister took me shopping with her this summer and I kept checking out the polka dots. She stopped me when I made a move to try a top on. I genuinely thought I had very little in the way of polka dot clothing. We brainstormed and in a minute, we counted at least 6 tops of mine in varying colours, all polka. I did not try on that top. Sadly. I also love my polka dot handbag, Rocketdog heels, water bottle cover, mugs, set of plates, dressing robe and plastic wallets, bras, socks, umbrella…the list goes on.

I will explain whence this loving relationship commenced. I was about 3 or 4 years old when my granduncle, dear departed uncle Abubakar Joda, bought me a hot pink dress with black polka dots, a black collar, waist band and bow. I absolutely loved that dress. I wanted it on all the time. I was in nursery school then and I would consent to wearing my uniform in the morning. As soon as I walked into our home after school, I would strip down to a vest and panties and refuse to wear anything that wasn’t my polka dot dress. My mama was forced to sneak in washes during school hours.

image

I wore it day in, day out. For over a year. I had lots of lovely clothes but I didn’t want any of them. Eventually, my mama’s patience ran out. I came home from school one day and she had given it to charity. I don’t remember crying but I was hopping mad. I asked my mama why she would do such a thing. Her answer was that the poor children needed it more than I did. Well!!! Even at that age, I knew I couldn’t argue with being charitable so I swallowed my tantrum (which was quite an achievement) and let her off. But I still thought ‘of all the things the poor children should need…’

I have never been able to forget my lovely dress nor have I completely forgiven my dear mama. She tried hard to get me over my loss. I inherited my sister’s fabulous red and white ruffly beautiful princess polka dot dress. It was lovely but not quite as good for me. Too much of a fuss to wear every day. To this day, when my mama annoys me, I pointedly remind her of her crime…she took my first love away. Unreal!

p.s yes, that was our wedding cake.

One thought on “That Polka Dot Dress

Talk to me...I love hearing your views!

